Career Change, Uncategorized

Weighing the Options

I can vividly remember the time when I decided to fully work at home, that was the time I had my first pregnancy. There were crucial points that I’ve considered before jumping into the bandwagon of home based online teaching.

Benefits

I was an expectant mother so first thing I’ve considered were the benefits of working in a company, I don’t have to worry about health insurance, social security and of course if I get sick I could still be paid. Not to mention the 13th month pay. On the other hand, working at home means “no work, no pay” and I have to shoulder the payment of health insurance and social security system. Though I’ve experienced working as a part-time online tutor before, I have never really thought of doing it as a full-time because of the perks in the workplace.

Working Time

The thing about working at home is you can set the time that you wanted to work. It’s very flexible.  I teach from early morning and evening so I had the whole mid-morning and afternoon to myself. It’s really great because if I go grocery shopping, there’s not so many people lining up in the counter or getting stuck in the traffic jam. Also, I was able to take care of my baby while working.

Salary

I could earn the same amount of salary that I earned when I was working in a call center or even slightly higher depending on the number of hours I input. I work an average of 160-200 hours a month. Other tutors could work 15-18 hours a day!

Travel Time

I worked in a call center at that time and I got out from the office at 7 in the morning. You can just imagine the rush hour. Travelling to and fro from the workplace, getting stuck in the traffic jam jarred me and thinking about working at home is a kind of dream job. I could save 2-3 hours of my time in a day.

You are your own boss

One of the great things about working at home is that you don’t have the pressure from your bosses. If you plan to have a vacation you can do so. No need to file a leave of absence. Of course, that would be without pay. It’s like having your own business.

If you are also surmising about working at home, you might want to consider these things.

Check out my next blog on how to prepare yourself in working at home.

Leave a comment