English as Second Language Teacher

How I ventured into Teaching English

As a teenager, I really wanted to become a teacher. However, I ended up graduating with a business major. My parents didn’t want me to go to teaching profession because according to them it is very difficult to get employed. That was actually true, it’s hard to get a permanent job as a teacher so I acquiesced to their decision. Well, now I don’t really regret it because I could still use my background to have a business lesson at present. So how come from a business major, I became an English Tutor?

I was at that time unemployed, I just came back from Taiwan after working there for a year. Economy in Taiwan was so bad in 2008 that a lot of Filipino overseas, I including, were forced to go home and as to be expected an increase of unemployment. I lived in the outskirt of a small city so it’s much harder to find a job. I then check out the newspaper publication for job openings and lo and behold I saw a job advertisement of teaching English to foreign nationalities. As I had dreamed of becoming  a teacher, I thought that this would be perfect opportunity for me instead of working in a bank or call center.

I passed the interviews and trainings for ESL Teaching and that helped me a lot how to teach students effectively. I taught Korean students in that offline school and I’ve enjoyed it immensely. It’s not the usual classroom setting wherein a student would mostly listen but more of an interactive one. I’ve gained insights to their culture and find it exciting. There were of course some challenges along the way but these obstacles made me what I am today. So that’s how I ended up becoming an ESL teacher.

 

Leave a comment